Chicken pot pie (home sweet home)

  • 4 chicken breasts with skin and bone
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • 4 cups chicken stock
  • 12 tablespoons butter
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • 2 cups chopped carrots
  • 1 package frozen peas

Crust:

  • 1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • salt
  • 1 1/2 sticks butter

I drove home again last weekend to visit my mother and I decided to make her chicken pot pie. Every time we go out to eat, my mom orders chicken. I try to get her to venture out and try new things, but she insists on her chicken. However, I decided to give her a break – just this time!

My aunt normally comes over for a chat and a glass of wine while I cook dinner. She likes to “taste test” as I go along and she couldn’t keep herself away from the stove this time! She said she was jealous that she couldn’t stay for dinner but she had to go back home to eat with my uncle. I’d say this meal was a success, from my aunt taste testing at the beginning to Jelly licking our bowls clean at the end!

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Place chicken breasts on a baking sheet and rub the olive oil into the chicken. Add salt and pepper and back for 40 minutes.

Meanwhile, melt the butter in a saucepan. Chop the onion and add it to the pan and cook about 10 minutes. Stir in the flour and stir until thickened. Pour the stock into the pan. Add the heavy cream, salt and pepper. Slice the chicken off of the bone, add it to the saucepan. Then add the peas, celery, and parsley. Let cook for about 5 more minutes.

For the crust, combine flour, salt, and butter. Add water in 1 tablespoon increments about 4 times. Knead the dough and lay on a floured surface. Take one of the bowls you are using to cook the chicken pot pie and divide into 6 pieces. Pour the soup into individual bowls, add the pie crusts, and bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.

Leave a Reply

