Chocolate raspberry cake (highly addictive)

I made this cake a while ago for my sister’s graduation, but I am just now getting around to blogging about it! My family was in town from Chicago, so I wanted to show them my new-found skills. My sister made our cowboy hot pot for dinner while I made the dessert.

*I wanted to layer the cake, so I doubled the cake ingredients and made two batches in two separate cake pans.

Cake:

  • 1 cup self-rising flour
  • 3 tablespoons cocoa
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 10 tablespoons butter
  • 3/4 cup superfine sugar
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 2 tablespoons water

Icing:

  • 5 ounces dark chocolate
  • 2/3 cup heavy cream
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons apricot or raspberry jam

Toppings for the cake:

  • Raspberry jam
  • 1 package fresh raspberries

Grease an 8-inch round cake pan. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.

Put all the cake ingredients in a large bowl and beat until mixture is smooth. Spoon the mixture into the cake pan and bake for 45 minutes.

For the icing, break the chocolate into pieces and melt in a saucepan over low heat. Pour in the cream and vanilla extract. Cool the icing by moving to a bowl and chilling until it thickens.

Once the cakes cooled off, I placed one on a serving plate, then spread the raspberry jam over the top. I then layered the second cake on the top and spread the icing all over. To finish it off, I added raspberries, but feel free to decorate with anything you like!

One thought on “Chocolate raspberry cake (highly addictive)

Leave a Reply

