Chocolate chip walnut pancakes and mimosas

After a long weekend of partying and fun, I woke up Sunday morning craving a big breakfast. I decided to make chocolate chip walnut pancakes. I will share my recipe with the hopes that you will never have to buy pancake mix again. It is SO easy to make delicious pancakes from scratch. Another tip: toast the walnuts before you add them to the pancake mix. This helps bring out their flavor.

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup milk (buttermilk or whole milk preferred)
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup miniature semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup toasted walnuts
  • maple syrup

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Chop the walnuts and layer them on a single layer on a baking sheet. Bake for about 15 minutes, then allow them to cool.

In a bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.

In another bowl, beat the egg, milk, oil, vanilla and chocolate chips. Add to dry ingredients and mix well.

Spoon the batter by 1/4 cupfuls onto a lightly greased pan over medium heat. Flip them over when bubbles form on top of pancakes. Cook until the second side is brown.

Pour the maple syrup and top with more chocolate chips, if desired.

After I enjoyed my delicious breakfast, my morning got even better because Hannah came over and surprised me with beautiful flowers and mimosas! We spent the rest of the afternoon watching Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part One. Later that evening, we went over to Charles’ with Shannon, Tara, Buck and Drew to watch Bridesmaids. I had very high expectations for this movie. However, the girls didn’t find it as entertaining as we had anticipated.

The rest of the week went by very quickly. We had a cold front come through and the temperature dropped down into the 50s. I got to wear my cardigans for the first time this fall! I love this weather. It makes jogging much easier without the Texas summer heat.

On Wednesday, Tara and I went to Yogurtland to try their pumpkin flavor. I am OBSESSED with pumpkin and have been waiting to try their new flavor for a long time! I have missed it since last fall…

I am excited for tonight because DESSA IS IN TOWN from NYC and we are staying at the Gaylord tonight in Grapevine. Then tomorrow is my sister’s BIRTHDAY and the TCU homecoming game and tailgate!!!! Here comes yet another insane weekend!

Leave a Reply

