Lamb loin, asparagus, and arugula salad

My cousin, Sam, moved to Dallas in August and has been down the road from me, but we have hardly managed to get together. Over Thanksgiving we decided we would change that. So Sam drove to Fort Worth on Sunday and I made us lunch. I’m very particular about what I make because I want it to turn out just right for my guests. I could care less if I mess up on my own, but if I’m cooking for someone else, I want to really impress them! After an hour of searching through all of my cookbooks and favorite cooking blogs, I decided on lamb loin for the main dish.

I had never cooked with dried mushrooms before. I went to Central Market and had to ask where they were because I figured they wouldn’t be in the produce section. Instead, they were by the pasta and spices. I really enjoyed cooking with them, they had a very woodsy smell.

  • 3 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 1 large garlic clove, minced
  • Sea salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • 8 lamb loin chops
  • 1/4 cup finely ground dried porcini mushrooms
  • 1 tablespoon finely chopped rosemary leaves

Combine two tablespoons oil and garlic in a bowl. Rub over both sides of the lamb. Sprinkle with salt and black pepper. Refrigerate 1-2 hours.

 

Combine mushrooms and rosemary in a small bowl. Remove lamb from refrigerator. Coat both sides of lamb with mushrooms. Let sit at room temperature, 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Heat 1 tablespoon oil in a large skillet. Add lamb without overcrowding. Cook until brown on both sides, turning once, 3-4 minutes per side.

Transfer skillet to oven. Bake until cooked to desired doneness, 10 – 15 minutes for medium-rare. Remove from oven, tent with foil and let rest 15 minutes before serving.

While the lamb was in the oven I had time to prepare the asparagus and the salad. Asparagus is so easy, I just put two tablespoons of olive oil in a skillet over medium heat and added the asparagus. Cook for about ten minutes and let lit until ready to serve.

For the salad, I bought arugula, yellow grape tomatoes, cucumbers, pomegranates, and red wine vinegar.

Slice the yellow grape tomatoes and cucumber and toss with arugula. Cut the pomegranates in half and scoop the seeds out with a spoon. Place the seeds in a bowl and use a fork to squeeze as much of the juice out as possible. Use a strainer to separate the seeds from the juice. Add 1/3 cup of red wine vinegar. Serve on the side so you don’t wilt the salad.

I wasn’t a fan of of arugula until Richard showed me this pomegranate salad dressing. I think the sweetness of the dressing balances out the bitterness of the arugula. So now I’m a big fan of arugula!

After lunch, we pulled out the Dixon koozies to enjoy a bottle of beer while we watched football. Then we gave Mimi a call to tell her about our afternoon.

I had so much fun with Sam and hopefully we can make this a monthly event at the very least!

Leave a Reply

