Bell pepper coleslaw

I am a big fan of coleslaw, but I’m also a fan of finding recipes I love and making them more healthful.  This recipe has lots of vegetables and the apple cider vinegar dressing is much better for you than the typical mayonnaise dressing.

  • 1/2 head of cabbage
  • 1 red onion
  • 1 yellow bell pepper
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 3 small tomatoes
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar

Chop the cabbage, red onion, red bell pepper, yellow bell pepper, and tomatoes. Transfer all chopped contents to a large bowl.

In a small bowl, mix the sugar, salt, pepper, and apple cider vinegar. Pour the mixture into the large bowl and mix well. You can serve immediately, but I would suggest refrigerating over night to let the flavors sit.

When I went to the grocery store, I bought more of each ingredient, so since I had leftover ingredients, I decided to make a cabbage soup. I basically poured all the ingredients into a pot (leaving out the sugar and substituting the apple cider vinegar for chicken stock) I added a few cups of water, depends on how much broth you like in your soup, and let sit on the stove for about 30 minutes.

To go along with my cabbage soup and slaw, I made some guacamole.

  • 2 ripe avocados
  • 1/2 red onion
  • 2 small tomatoes
  • Garlic powder
  • Salt and pepper
  • Fresh cilantro
  • Limes

Peel the avocados and scoop out the pit and remaining contents to a large bowl. Chop the red onion and tomatoes. Mash the avocado then add the red onion and tomatoes. Sprinkle the garlic powder, salt, and pepper and mix well. Chop 2 tablespoons of the fresh cilantro and mix into the guacamole. Halve a lime and squeeze over the guacamole. This helps keep it from browning as quickly.

Leave a Reply

