Simple, fluffy, delicious Belgian waffles

Yesterday was an AMAZING day. I woke up and decided to use my waffle maker for the first time. I must admit, my first batch was an epic fail. But everything else was uphill from there! My mistake (please learn from me) was 1) not greasing the waffle maker enough and 2) cooking the waffles for too long.

My second try was absolutely perfect. I love my waffles served with just maple syrup but if you have some fresh fruit, it would be wonderful with some strawberries or raspberries.

After breakfast I went for a run. I haven been consistently running 3-4 miles for the past year and recently decided to increase my mileage. I am so lucky to live right on the Trinity Trails so I have no excuse not to venture out! I ended up running 9 miles yesterday with an average of a 10.5 minute per mile.

Later in the afternoon my friends drove in town from Houston. We had dinner at Tillman’s then went to Billy Bob’s to see Luke Bryan in concert. He was so entertaining, it was the perfect ending to my wonderful day!

Belgian waffles

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 3/4 cups milk
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 tablespoon white sugar
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Mise en place

Preheat waffle iron. Beat eggs in large bowl with hand beater until fluffy.

Beat in flour, milk, vegetable oil, sugar, baking powder, salt and vanilla, just until smooth.

Spray preheated waffle iron with non-stick cooking spray. Pour mix onto hot waffle iron. Cook until golden brown. Serve hot.

 

Leave a Reply

