Teriyaki glazed sea scallops

My coworkers love to talk about their kids at work. Heck, I don’t blame them, they’re adorable. But I just wish I had something to contribute when the conversation is headed toward that direction.

One day they happened to be sharing pictures of their kids. They always marvel at how much cooking I do and I say it’s because I don’t have little ones to take care of. Then it got me thinking – I pulled out a picture of these scallops as they were sharing baby pictures and said “here…this is MY baby.”

These scallops cost my about $15 for a pound, but they were worth every penny. Makes a light but filling meal that leaves me feeling satisfied, not hungry. I just wish I could buy fresh scallops every week. They are that wonderful! And it doesn’t take long to prepare either.

  • 8 large sea Scallops
  • 2 Tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil (separated for marinating and cooking)
  • 2 Tbsp Tamari (or low sodium soy sauce)
  • 1 tsp White Sesame Seeds
  • Fresh Ground Black Pepper, to taste

In a small bowl or glass, mix together Olive Oil and Tamari (or Soy Sauce). Pour over scallops, generously dousing each one. Allow them to sit in the sauce and marinate for 5-10 minutes.

Heat 1 tablespoon oil in a large skillet over medium high heat. Cook scallops for about 3 minutes then flip and cook an additional 3 minutes. They should appear golden brown when cooked through.

Transfer to a large place and garnish by sprinkling sesame seeds and black pepper on top.

Leave a Reply

