Potatoes au gratin (made with goat cheese)

Ok, so the title may have been a spoiler, but I had to drag you in with the tempting secret ingredient! I believe I’m starting to sound repetitive about my love of goat cheese, but I can’t help it. I’ll find any way to sneak it into a recipe. You can use crumbled goat cheese, but I prefer soft goat cheese and use my fingers to separate it into smaller pieces.

Anyway, I practically licked the plate clean after making this. So lady like, I know. But this recipe is just THAT amazing!

  • 2 lbs yukon gold potatoes, peeled
  • 1 cup milk (low fat is fine)
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 heaping cup soft goat cheese
  • 1/2 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 1/4 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • Chives or green onions, chopped, for serving

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Lightly grease an 11×7 inch baking dish.

Slice the potatoes very thinly.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the milk, cream, garlic, goat cheese, Parmesan cheese, salt, pepper, and nutmeg. Layer 1/3 of the potatoes in the bottom of the baking dish overlapping them slightly. Pour 1/3 of the cream mixture over the potatoes, then repeat the layers two more times with the remaining potatoes and cream.

Bake, uncovered, for about 1 hour and 15 minutes, or until the top is browned and the potatoes are cooked through. Allow to stand at least 15 minutes. Sprinkle with chives or green onions and serve.

I served with my spicy baked tilapia and broccolini. To prepare the broccolini, saute in olive oil and mince garlic for about 8 minutes.

Leave a Reply

