Zucchini and corn pizza

photo

One of the things I loved the most about my visit to Chicago was getting to see my Grandpa’s garden. He has everything, from tomatoes, okra and zucchini to fresh herbs. I can’t wait until I have the space to start my own garden; I have definitely learned from the best!

So of course I was sent home with a few souvenirs! My grandpa gave both my sister and me zucchinis. Now, these weren’t your normal zucchinis – they were the size of a butternut squash. So as a girl on a budget I knew I could stretch the zucchini to make three meals, which I will share this week. You can do the same by buying 5-6 medium-sized zucchinis, and it will still be very cost-effective! Promise 🙂

For the Crust:

  • 1 package active dry yeast
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons white sugar

For the Toppings:

  • 1/2 lb zucchini or 1-2 small zucchinis, sliced into thin rounds
  • 1 1/4 cup frozen corn
  • 1/2 yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 can tomato paste

In a small bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water. Let stand until creamy, about 10 minutes.

In a large bowl, combine 2 cups bread flour, olive oil, salt, white sugar and the yeast mixture; stir well to combine. Beat well until a stiff dough has formed. Cover and rise until doubled in volume, about 30 minutes to an hour. This can be done the day before, just wrap it up with plastic wrap and place in the fridge overnight.

When you are ready to bake the pizza, preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Turn dough out onto a well floured surface. Form dough into a round and roll out into a pizza crust shape. Spread the tomato paste on the dough, and top with zucchini, corn and onions. Bake for another 15-20 minutes. Remove from oven, season with additional pepper if desired, and serve!

2 thoughts on “Zucchini and corn pizza

  1. Pingback: Zucchini and basil soup | Alice in Cookingland

  2. Pingback: Zucchini and coconut quickbread | Alice in Cookingland

Leave a Reply

