Homemade hummus

hummus

I love making homemade hummus because I can make it my own and add flavorings as I like. If I’m making it for others, I can simply make a batch of plain hummus and set out spices and additions for others to add based on their preferences.  Hummus is so easy to make and requires so few ingredients. This weekend I found that I already had all of the ingredients and since I was “iced in” and couldn’t get myself to the grocery store, it made perfect sense!

  • 1 16 oz can of chickpeas or garbanzo beans
  • 1/4 cup liquid from can of chickpeas
  • 3-5 tablespoons lemon juice (I used juice from half of a lemon, but add more to your preference)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons tahini
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil

Drain chickpeas and set aside liquid from can. Combine remaining ingredients using a blender, food processor or immersion blender. (Side note, this is when I LOVE my immersion blender, because I can blend directly in the bowl, and serve – saves a lot of cleanup as opposed to the food processor). Add 1/4 cup of liquid from chickpeas. Blend for 3-5 minutes on low until thoroughly mixed and smooth.

Place in serving bowl, and create a shallow well in the center of the hummus. Add a small amount (1-2 tablespoons) of olive oil in the well. I like to garnish with parsley, cayenne pepper, crushed red pepper, Kalamata olives, etc. Serve with veggies like cucumbers, pita chips or pita bread.

3 thoughts on “Homemade hummus

    • Yes, there are many ways to experiment with hummus! I think adding feta cheese, red onion and Kalamata olives would be delicious! Or if you like heat, blending the chickpeas is a chipotle pepper and black beans, garnishing with cilantro. Another one I see in the stores a lot is edamame hummus, blending edamame beans along with the chickpeas. Blending with avocado and topping with jalapenos is another favorite of mine. It just depends on your taste preferences, but hopefully that inspires some funky hummus recipes for you! Let me know how it goes and what you experiment with!

      • Thanks for your suggestions… I made the feta, kalamata olives and red onion combo which was delicious. I blitzed the olives, feta and onion in a little but left it quite chunky which was great with some pita bread and crisps!

Leave a Reply

