Quinoa “fried rice”

photo 1

Once again, I’ve neglected my blog due to other life events getting in the way! :/ A lot has happened since my last post. After coming back from Las Vegas work has kept me super busy, but then I got a week of relaxation in Mexico with Richard – all thanks to my grandparents who hosted us in their timeshare. Immediately after my vacation I moved into a new apartment with a new roomie! We’ve enjoyed cooking with each other, I just haven’t had a chance to share all the recipes.

One of the recipes I’ve made recently that really stood out to me was quinoa fried rice. I love quinoa and so I try¬†incorporating it into my meal every week. When I saw this idea I knew I had to try it. You can really customize the recipe according to how much spice or protein you want, but I love all of the above, so I incorporated a lot of both!

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 2 large eggs, beaten
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 head broccoli, cut into florets
  • 1/2 cup frozen corn
  • 1/2 cup frozen peas
  • 2 carrots, peeled and grated
  • 3 cups cooked quinoa
  • 1 tablespoon grated fresh ginger
  • 3 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 2 green onions, sliced
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • Choice of protein like cooked and shredded chicken, or tofu
  • Sriracha and crushed red pepper, for serving

Instructions:

If using tofu, remove from package and drain water by pressing with paper towels. Shred the tofu and set aside. If using chicken, heat 1-2 tablespoons olive oil in a pan and cook chicken breasts 4-5 minutes on each side, or until cooked all the way through.

Heat 1 tablespoon olive oil in a medium skillet over low heat. Add eggs and fry until cooked through, about 2-3 minutes per side, flipping only once. Let cool before dicing into small pieces.

Heat remaining 1 tablespoon olive oil in a large skillet or wok over medium high heat. Add garlic and onion, and cook, stirring often, until onions have become translucent, about 4-5 minutes.

Add broccoli. Cook, stirring constantly, until vegetables are tender, about 3-4 minutes.

Add corn, peas, carrots and quinoa. Cook, stirring constantly, until heated through, about 1-2 minutes.

Add ginger and soy sauce, and gently toss to combine. Cook, stirring constantly, until heated through, about 2 minutes.

Stir in green onions, eggs, salt, pepper and protein.

Serve immediately, drizzled with Sriracha and crushed red pepper, if desired.

One thought on “Quinoa “fried rice”

Leave a Reply

