Stuffed bell peppers with quinoa and cheese

bell peppers

 

Stuffed bell peppers

It’s that time…. bikini season. I have been on a real health push, and even signed myself up for a City Surf Fitness membership. City Surf provides a variety of exercises that use The Ripsurfer X, which combines a “paddling element” with a balance board base that recreates the instability of a surfboard on water. My room mate has worked out there for a while, and they were running a promotion so I decided now would be a great time to join. I already have a good running routine, but when it comes to strength exercises, I really need someone to push me. I signed up for a different class every day last week to get a feel for which classes I would like. It was quite a challenge, but I have never felt better and am looking forward to what I will feel AND look like in the coming months!

To go along with this new health kick, I have been on the search for recipes that are high protein and low in fat and sugar. As I have mentioned in previous posts, I am now obsessed with incorporating quinoa into at least one meal per week. I love the amount of protein I know I’m getting with the grain. We had been going through quinoa quite quickly and it’s not exactly the cheapest purchase on our grocery list. Thankfully, we found this four pound bag of quinoa on Amazon that is a great price point per ounce (yes, we did the math). Hopefully it will last us quite a while!

Now for the yummy part of the post….I saw a recipe that called for shredded chicken in stuffed bell peppers, so I adjusted it slightly to use quinoa instead. You can also tone down the spice if you’re not into spicy foods, but I really loved every part of these bell peppers personally. I hope you do to because they’re pretty easy to make and make great left overs.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 3 cups chicken broth
  • 8 ounces cream cheese, room temperature
  • 4 ounces monterey jack, grated
  • 4 ounces cheddar, grated
  • 2 oz goat cheese (optional, I just love adding goat cheese to everything)
  • 1-3 seeded jalapeno peppers, finely diced
  • 4 ounces chopped green chiles from a can
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1/4-1/2 cup panko
  • 4 red (or any color assortment) bell peppers

Instructions

Cook the quinoa according to directions. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

In a large bowl, combine the quinoa, cream cheese, half of the monterey jack and cheddar, jalapenos, green chiles, cumin, salt and pepper, corn, and salsa. Stir to combine well.

Slice the bell peppers in half from top to bottom. Cut out the stem and remove the veins and seeds as best you can. Stuff with the chicken mixture. Sprinkle the tops with the remaining cheese and the panko crumbs.

Bake on a parchment lined baking sheet for 25-30 minutes in a 350 degree oven. The peppers should be fairly tender and the filling heated through.

One thought on “Stuffed bell peppers with quinoa and cheese

Leave a Reply

