Baked quinoa and oatmeal with mixed berries

quinoa berry oatmeal (1) quinoa berry oatmeal (2)

I’m a big breakfast believer, and always have been. I need a full, balanced breakfast that will hold me over until lunch so I’m not snacking. I do love yogurt and granola, but I wanted to look for other ways I could incorporate protein into my breakfast, so I turned to quinoa. There are so many options, and I will be testing more out in the coming weeks, but this recipe caught my eye since I had made a similar baked oatmeal, before, just without the quinoa. Turns out it was just as delicious! The other thing I love about this meal is that I can bake it on Sunday and have breakfast ready to go the rest of the week, perfect for my busy mornings!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup quinoa, rinsed
  • 1/2 cup toasted walnuts
  • 1/3 cup natural sugar or maple syrup
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 2 cups low fat milk
  • 1 large egg
  • 3 T unsalted butter, melted
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 bananas, cut into pieces
  • 1 1/2 cups mixed berries

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 375 and spray olive oil in your pan to prevent sticking.

Mix together oats, quinoa, half of walnuts, sugar (if using otherwise add maple syrup with wet ingredients), baking powder, cinnamon and salt. (Note: this can be done ahead of time.)

In a separate bowl lightly beat egg and add in milk, vanilla, maple syrup (if using) and half of the slightly cooled butter.

Place banana slices on the bottom of the prepared pan. Top with 2/3 of the berries and cover with oat mixture. Pour wet ingredients over and make sure the dry ingredients are covered. Top with remaining berries and walnuts.

Bake for 40 minutes. Drizzle with remaining melted butter and additional maple syrup or sugar if desired.

Leave a Reply

