Four-spice salmon with cranberry spinach salad + my new fall outfit

Fall is officially here in Texas. I was finally able to bust out my fall clothes, including my new hat and scarf. I had been eyeing them on some of my favorite bloggers and finally took the plunge and ordered them. They arrived just in time for the weekend!

I was also looking forward to Halloween weekend. We celebrated Halloween at work earlier in the week, where I dressed up with a few other girls as the Spice Girls. We even created a music video to get in the spirit. That might have been the highlight of my week!

But after a weekend of eating candy, I decided it was time to get back into the game and focus on eating healthy leading up to Thanksgiving. I saw the recipe for the salmon on New York Times Cooking, and knew I had to try it out because salmon is so easy, and I had been craving salmon for a while. And I love pan frying salmon with the skin because it gives it a nice crunchy taste. Some people don’t like the skin, and that’s fine, but I do! For the side, I decided to go for a simple salad. Also, I had a whole bag of dried cranberries and walnuts in my pantry, but you can pretty much toss together whatever you want.

FullSizeRender-2

Salmon

  • 1 lb salmon fillets (preferably organic or wild caught Salmon)
  • Salt and black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon coriander seeds or ground coriander
  • ¼ teaspoon whole or ground cloves
  • 1 ½ teaspoons cumin seed or ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
  • 2 tablespoons peanut oil, grape seed or other neutral oil, or clarified butter

Season fillets with all the spices salt and pepper and toss in a dish. Press some of the mixture onto the top of each fillet.

Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat for 2 or 3 minutes. Add the oil or butter and, when it sizzles, place the fillets, coated side down, in the pan. Cook about 2 to 3 minutes, or until the spice mixture forms a nicely browned crust. Turn the fillets and cook for another 2 to 3 minutes, or until the salmon just slightly resists when pierced with a thin-bladed knife.

I was making the salmon for myself, so I cut up the salmon into serving portions and just cooked it when I was ready to eat it.

Salad

  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1/4 cup dried cranberries
  • 1 oz soft goat cheese
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts

Toss all ingredients together and add your favorite dressing. I drizzled some olive oil and balsamic vinegar on the salad.

Products/What You’ll Need:

Fall outfit

10422181_2905634249830_968428624548631101_n 10450524_2908198913945_2433590897941855569_n

  • Scarf
  • Hat (this hat was literally named for me)
  • Shirt (similar)
Leave a Reply

