Natural makeover

FullSizeRender-3

I know this looks like a complete departure from all the other posts on my blog, but I am passionate about a healthy lifestyle, and cooking meals from scratch is just one part of it. I also exercise daily, seek and research natural beauty products, and have even started making my own home products and cleaners. My goal for this blog is to share these habits so that others can start to learn more about a wholesome lifestyle. I, too, am still learning as I go along, and will share that information as I receive it.

Like anyone else, I never paid much attention to what is in the products we use every day. I might have been more likely to buy products that said they don’t do animal testing, but in reality, that’s just one small part of it. Like food, if you can’t pronounce the ingredient or don’t recognize it, you probably shouldn’t be putting it in or on your body. Whatever you put in your stomach or on the surface of your skin eventually gets absorbed to your blood stream and is in your system.

Go ahead, say it. I sound like one of those crazy health people. I know. But honestly, it is really very easy to make your own food and products or buy more natural beauty products. I know we’re at a point where it seems like basically everything is a cause of cancer, but my mentality is, if I can minimize the amount of chemicals I come in contact with now, even if it’s not affecting me immediately, why not take steps for a better future?

That being said, I am still on the search for beauty products that are natural and eco-friendly. Most of the home products are easy enough to make, so I will be sharing those recipes. So my blog will keep the same name, Alice In Cookingland, it will just be a more variety of things I “cook” up – to include DIY products, etc.

I am now in the transition of phasing out some of my old make up with new, natural products. A product line I found that I like so far is by Josie Maran. Below are the products that I have been using and I just love!

I had been wanting to switch my foundation to a tinted moisturizer, one reason being I really don’t need that heavy layer for my  every day look. A tinted moisturizer gives me just what I need: moisture and evenness. I really love the glow this moisturizer gives me!

Also, I had never tried a liquid blush before, so I was a bit skeptical at first about how it would look, how long it would last, etc. But the cream actually lasts all day, and I love how easy it is to blend. Perfect for my busy mornings when I’m rushing out the door! It’s also great to store in my purse for a quick touch-up if I’m going to happy hour or dinner after work.

Have you tried any natural products you enjoy?

Products shown:

 Today was a rainy day. Glad I had my make up to brighten my face, and my new outfit keeping me cozy!

IMG_5488

Products:

Leave a Reply

