Spaghetti squash with mushrooms, Parmesan and parsley

squash

I don’t normally shop at Whole Foods, but I went the other day because I had a gift card. I was reminded of why I don’t normally shop there. Everything is so overpriced, and for it being a “whole” foods store, their produce section was actually quite small, while aisles of processed foods took over the majority of the store. I couldn’t even find spaghetti squash, which is very in season right now, so I still had to make an extra stop at Kroger.

This is especially weighing on my mind as I recently watched a documentary on GMOs called, “GMO, OMG” that showed how GMOs are still present in one of the largest health food chains, (Whole Foods). You should check it out. The documentary was very eye-opening. In actuality, it’s very hard to shop for non-GMO foods unless you mainly get your produce from a farmer’s market, which I know isn’t an option for our busy schedules or budgets, but it is worth thinking about what you put into your body, and the steps you might be able to take, however small they may be, to a more healthy lifestyle.

OK, now that I’m off of my soap box, we can get to the good stuff. I love spaghetti squash as an alternative to pastas, but I have never made spaghetti squash quite like this before. You might not normally expect all the flavors to go together, but somehow they come together to create pure magic. I could eat sauteed mushrooms all day, but combined with the squash and Parmesan cheese, with just the hint of parsley…. just perfection. I also made ahead the mushrooms and baked the squash on Sunday, so all I had to do for a week night meal was reheat it in the oven to cook it all the way through. It saved me some time, as I’m normally very hungry when I get home.

Ingredients

  • 1 small spaghetti squash (about 3lbs)
  • 1 tbsp fresh thyme
  • 2 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 cups button mushrooms, roughly chopped (about 20 mushrooms, 8oz)
  • ¼ cup parmesan cheese, grated
  • handful fresh parsley, finely chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Preheat oven to 380Fº

Put the spaghetti squash on a baking tray and bake for about an hour, until squash can be pierced with a knife.

In a deep skillet (or large pan), add olive oil, garlic and thyme. Cook for 2 minutes over high heat and add mushrooms. Cook until mushrooms are golden brown. Turn off the heat and set aside.

Take squash out of the oven and let cool to room temperature. Cut in half and get rid of the seeds. Use a fork to scrape the squash into strings.

Add squash to the skillet (or pan), turn the heat to high and quickly fry with mushrooms. Sprinkle parmesan while sauteing for a minute.

Turn the heat off, season with salt and pepper and serve warm.

If you want to make ahead and save for later, I put the squash mixture back into the squash with the mushrooms, and set aside the cheese and the parsley. When I was ready to bake, I put the squash in a baking dish and covered it with foil and let it warm in the oven for about 25 minutes. When it was ready, I mixed in the cheese and parsley.

Leave a Reply

