Quinoa cakes with goat cheese and peppers

quinoa cheese cakes

I’ve made quinoa cakes before and they are some of the easiest things to make since I usually have quinoa on hand, so it’s really about adding whatever else I have in the fridge or want to go buy. I had some leftover cheeses from other recipes, so I used an assortment of goat, cheddar and parmesan cheeses. All I needed to get from the store were the fresh peppers and jalapenos. The cakes were a bit hot (which is how I like them) so you can definitely tone down the spice according to your taste.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup soft goat cheese
  • 1/2 cup dried quinoa
  • 1/3 cup fresh grated Parmesan cheese (I also used a blend of cheddar cheese I had a little left of)
  • 2 to 3 tablespoons unbleached white flour
  • 2 red bell peppers, diced
  • 1 jalapeno, diced
  • 1 small yellow onion, diced
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon cayenne, to taste
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro, finely chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt, or to taste
  • fresh cracked black pepper to taste
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil

Instructions:

Cook the quinoa according to directions.

Mash the goat cheese with a fork in a large bowl. Then combine the quinoa, cheeses, 2 tablespoons of the flour, peppers, onions, spices, herbs, salt and pepper, and eggs and. Stir until well combined, adding more flour or oil as needed to achieve a fairly moist mixture that can be shaped into roughly 6-8 small patties.

Heat the remaining oil in a non-stick skillet over medium heat. When hot, fry a few patties at a time until golden brown — about 5 minutes each side. Remove and let drain on paper towels.

Leave a comment